My relationship to Frances Harriett Yates

Here’s a very quick post – something I’ve just ‘woken up’ to!

I’d just started work on the first of my ‘Mecham family’ blogs when I suddenly realised something glaringly obvious about Fanny Yates that hadn’t dawned on me before.

It is quite simply this:

Although there is no absolute proof that Frances (Fanny) Harriett Yates is the mother of my great grandfather Edward Cavendish Yates, there is enough evidence to be sure that she is a distant relative of my great grandmother, Priscilla Jane Mecham, and therefore myself and my cousins of three generations.

Well that is good news!

I’ll be back in a bit with the Mechams of East London.

Here’s a taster….

William Mecham, my 4th great grandfather was born in 1758 and Thomas Mecham, his son, was “admitted into the Freedom of the City of London by Patrimony” in 1822.

Thoma Mecham Freedom papers

Source Citation: London Metropolitan Archive; Reference Number: COL/CHD/FR/02/1479-1484.
Source Information:
Ancestry.com. London, England, Freedom of the City Admission Papers, 1681-1925 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2010.
Original data: Freedom admissions papers, 1681 – 1925. London, England: London Metropolitan Archives. COL/CHD/FR/02.

Thomas Mecham Freddom papers

Source Citation: London Metropolitan Archive; Reference Number: COL/CHD/FR/02/1479-1484.
Source Information:
Ancestry.com. London, England, Freedom of the City Admission Papers, 1681-1925 [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Ancestry.com Operations, Inc., 2010.
Original data: Freedom admissions papers, 1681 – 1925. London, England: London Metropolitan Archives. COL/CHD/FR/02.

Aside | This entry was posted in East London, Family Name, Fanny Yates, Frances Harriett Yates, London, Mecham, Priscilla Jane Mecham, Thomas Mecham, Uncategorized, William Mecham and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

